detailed directions and illustrations for the construction and placement of suitable roosting and nesting boxes. Based on a typical bluebird nesting timetable, the author explains how to monitor the nesting sites, and how to protect the bluebirds from predatory mammals, snakes, birds, and other cavity-nesting competitors. He also discusses various insects that are troublesome for bluebirds during the nesting period, and offers a table of insecticides that can be employed in the destruction of these pests, but that are unlikely to be noxious to the birds. He also gives the history, objective, construction, and management of bluebird trails that have been successful in helping the bluebirds to survive.

Throughout the book Zeleny ascribes the human attributes of love, happiness, sorrow, and altruism to the bluebird. The dispassionate scientist may criticize this anthropomorphic connotation, but after reading the heartwarming and delightful accounts of the author's handraising a brood of orphaned bluebirds to adulthood and seeing them and their offspring return to nature, one can only admire and think of the true beauty of God's creatures. This is a truly enjoyable book that I recommend most enthusiastically.—EDWARD V. SWIERCZEWSKI.

ORNITHOLOGICAL NEWS

AARON M. BAGG STUDENT MEMBERSHIP AWARDS—1977

Student Membership Awards in the Wilson Ornithological Society have been made available through funds generously donated in the memory of the late Aaron M. Bagg, former president of the Society. The Student Membership Committee has designated the award recipients for 1977 as follows: Theresa M. Allen, University of Texas at Arlington; Jonathan L. Atwood, California State University at Long Beach; Albert Aulette, Michigan State University; Bruce M. Beehler, Princeton University; Keith L. Bildstein, Ohio State University; Erik J. Bitterbaum, University of Florida; Roderick N. Brown, McGill University; Kelly B. Bryon, Sam Houston State University, Texas; William D. Clark, University of Illinois; Leon J. Folse, Jr., Texas A&M University; Eric D. Forsman, Oregon State University; Kimball L. Garrett, University of California at Los Angeles; Ralph J. Gutierrez, University of California at Berkeley; Geoffrey G. Hogan, Brock University, Ontario; Ronald L. Kalinoski, Syracuse University; Walter D. Koenig, University of California at Berkeley; Scott M. Lanyon, State University of New York at Geneseo; Howard Levenson, Humbolt State University, California; Douglas W. McWhirter, Michigan State University; Michael C. Moore, Indiana University; Gerald R. Meyers, Kent State University; Barry R. Noon, State University of New York at Albany; Douglas O. Norman, State University of New York at Stony Brook; Gary L. Nuechterlein, University of Minnesota; Richard T. Reynolds, Oregon State University; Douglas G. Richards, University of North Carolina; Kim M. Riddell, University of Florida; Wanda K. Rola-Pleszcynska, University of Toronto; Mark R. Ryan, Iowa State University; Josef K. Schmutz, University of Alberta; Bonita M. Smith, Miami University, Ohio; Donald L. Sparling, University of North Dakota; Gail E. Spealer, University of Florida; Michael N. Weinstein, California Polytechnic State University-Douglas James, Chairman, Student Membership Committee.

EBBA RESEARCH GRANT

The Eastern Bird-Banding Association is offering a \$250 Memorial Grant in aid of research. The applicant must be an undergraduate or graduate student and must be using bird banding as part of his or her research. Applications must be completed before 1 March 1978. For further information write to the Chairman: Dr. Bertram G. Murray, Jr., c/o Biology-Livingston, Kilmer Campus, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, N.J. 08903.

AARON M. BAGG STUDENT MEMBERSHIP AWARDS

Student Membership Awards in The Wilson Ornithological Society are available because of funds generously donated in the memory of Aaron M. Bagg, a former president of the Society. Application forms for the awards to be granted in 1978 may be obtained from James R. Karr, Dept. of Ecology, Ethology, and Evolution, Vivarium Building, Univ. of Illinois, Champaign 61820. The deadline for applying is 1 December 1977. An Aaron M. Bagg Student Membership Award provides a 1-year gratis new membership in The Wilson Ornithological Society for selected exceptional students in the field of ornithology.—James R. Karr, Chairman, Student Membership Committee.

Erratum.—On p. 187, paragraph 5, line 1 of the March issue (Vol. 89, No. 1), the word "distant" should be "distinct."