WILSON ORNITHOLOGICAL SOCIETY NEWS THE JOSSELYN VAN TYNE MEMORIAL LIBRARY

In recognition of the leadership and service of the late Josselyn Van Tyne to the Wilson Ornithological Society, the Executive Council, at its meeting in June, 1957, voted to rename the Society's library the Josselyn Van Tyne Memorial Library. Subsequently Mrs. Van Tyne announced her plan to present the bulk of Dr. Van Tyne's personal library to the Wilson Ornithological Society. Included in this gift are a number of virtually unobtainable items, among them Stresemann's "Aves," the complete set of the Aves section of the Zoological Record, and the reprints on birds from the publications of the Museum of Comparative Zoology. The Wilson Ornithological Society is deeply indebted to Mrs. Van Tyne for her generosity, and we hope that this development will be followed by the increased growth and use of the Josselyn Van Tyne Memorial Library.

THIRTY-NINTH ANNUAL MEETING

The Annual Meeting for 1958 will be convened at Oglebay Park, Wheeling, West Virginia, April 24 to 27. Sponsors for this meeting are the Brooks Bird Club and the Oglebay Institute. A call for contributions to the program will be mailed to members soon.

LOUIS AGASSIZ FUERTES RESEARCH GRANT

Application forms for the 1958 Louis Agassiz Fuertes Research Grant may be obtained from the chairman of the Research Grant Committee, Dr. Kenneth C. Parkes, Carnegie Museum, Pittsburgh 13, Pennsylvania. A grant of \$100 is awarded annually by the Wilson Ornithological Society as an aid to the completion of the research project which, in the judgment of the Committee, seems most likely to make an important contribution to ornithology. Affiliation with a university is not required, and applications from non-student amateurs are invited. Prospective applicants will find a detailed account of the history of the Fuertes Research Grant in the December, 1955, issue of *The Wilson Bulletin*.

The deadline for applications for the 1958 Grant will be April 1. The decision of the Committee will be announced at the annual meeting in Wheeling on April 25, and published in the September issue of *The Wilson Bulletin*.

The National Science Foundation will award grants to defray partial travel expenses for a limited number of American scientists who wish to participate in the XIIth International Ornithological Congress, scheduled to meet in Helsinki, Finland, June 5 to 12, 1958. Application forms may be obtained from the National Science Foundation, Washington 25, D.C., and must be returned by January 20, 1958.

Ornithologists who plan to submit applications for grants from the Frank M. Chapman Memorial Fund should do so before March 15. Awards from this fund are made annually to assist younger scientists conducting research in any branch of ornithology. Further information may be obtained from the Chairman, Chapman Memorial Fund Committee, The American Museum of Natural History, New York 24, N. Y.

The American Ornithologists' Union will meet in New York, October 14 to 19, 1958, on the occasion of the Union's 75th Anniversary. This meeting is sponsored jointly by the Linnaean Society of New York, The National Audubon Society, the New York Zoological Society, and the American Museum of Natural History.

THE WILSON ORNITHOLOGICAL SOCIETY

Officers, 1956-57			
President	***************************************	John T. Emlen, Jr.	
First Vice-President		Lawrence H. Walkinshaw	
Second Vice-President		Phillips B. Street	
Secretary		Fred T. Hall	
Treasurer		Ralph M. Edeburn	
Editor		Keith L. Dixon	
Additional M	EMBERS OF THE EXI	ECUTIVE COUNCIL	
	Elective Members		
Leonard C. Brecher	Andrew J. Berger	Pershing B. Hofslund	
Past Presidents			
R. M. Strong		S. Charles Kendeigh	
Albert F. Ganier		Olin S. Pettengill, Jr.	
Jessie M. Shaver		Maurice G. Brooks	
Margaret M. Nice		Walter J. Breckenridge	
George M. Sutton		Burt L. Monroe	
Trustees			
Leonard C. Brecher	Paul J. Nowland	Phillips B. Street	
Editorial Staff of the Wilson Bulletin			
Editor			
Keith L. Dixon			
Editorial Advisory Board			
George A. Bartholomew, Jr.		Robert A. Norris	
Andrew J. Berger		Kenneth C. Parkes	
William A. Lunk		Raymond A. Paynter, Jr.	
CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES			

Research Grant	
Membership	Howard F. Young
Library	H. Lewis Batts, Jr.
Conservation	Robert A. Pierce
Endowment	Olin S. Pettingill, Jr.
Annual Meeting	George A. Hall, Jr.