News and Reviews

REFEREE'S NAMES

The individuals listed below have graciously offered their professional opinion in the evaluation manuscripts submitted for publication to *The Journal of Raptor Research* in 1990.

Daniel Airola, David Andersen, Thomas Balgooyen, Robert Bancroft, Marc Bechard, Dale Becker, James Belthoff, Richard Bierregaard, Keith Bildstein, David Bird, Pete Bloom, Gary Bortolotti, Reed Bowman, David Brinker, Richard Brown, Evelyn Bull, Javier Bustamante, Tom Cade, John Castrale, Thomas Carpenter, Susan Chaplin, Bill Clark, Dick Clark, Jack Clinton-Eitniear, Charles Collins, Michael Collopy, Erica Craig, Tim Craig, Gregory Czechura, Gustavo Danemann, James Dawson, Dick Dekker, Katherine Duffy, Gary Duke, Jim Duncan, David Ellis, Jim Enderson, Nancy Ertter, Dave Evans, Paolo Fasce, Jim Fitzpatrick, Stephen Flemming, Bruce Fortman, Glen Fox, Jim Fraser, Mark Fuller, Frederick Gelbach, Jon Gerrard, Richard Glinski, Claire Hager, Fran Hamerstrom, Donald Hammer, Al Harmata, Chuck Henny, Borja Heredia, Mauro Hernández, José Carrillo Hildalgo, Denver Holt, David Houston, Stuart Houston, Rich Howard, Grainger Hunt, William Iko, Eduardo Iñigo-Elias, Ronald Jackman, Fabian Jaksić, Paul James, Warren Johnson, Christopher Kellner, Robert Kenward, Paul Kerlinger, Daniel Klem Jr., Mike Kochert, Bill Koonz, Ted Leighton, Jeff Lincer, Carl Marti, Bruce McGillivray, Katherine McKeever, Martin McNichol, Brian Millsap, George Montopoli, Helmut Mueller, Peter Mundy, Joe Murphy, Bob Murphy, Wayne Nelson, Robert Nero, Lynn Oliphant, Tim Osborne, Allen Parker, James Phillips, Alan Poole, Howard Postovit, Sergej Postupalsky, Patricia Rabenold, Arlo Raim, Christopher Reading, Pat Redig, Laura Rodríguez, Ricardo Rodríguez-Estrella, Christoph Rohner, Larry Rymon, William Scharf, Phil Schempf, Wolfgang Scherzinger, Terry Schulz, Chris Shank, Stephen Sherrod, Williston Shor, John Smallwood, Dwight Smith, Navjot Sodhi, Karen Steenhof, Paul Steblein, Peter Tirrell, Jay Vannini, Daniel Varland, Ian Warkentin, Geoff Welch, Clay White, Stanley Wiemeyer, Sanford Wilbur, Fridtjof Ziesemer.

The **Tully Memorial Award** went to Cynthia Sillis for her work on the effect of supplemental feeding on synchronous hatching in burrowing owls. Cynthia Sillis is a graduate student at Idaho State University.

The Hawk Migration Association of North America Research Award was established to encourage research on raptor migration. Applicants should submit a proposal not longer than five pages. The proposal should describe study objectives, study location and methodology, proposed expenditures, and the applicant's background. Annual awards total \$2000 and up to three projects may be funded each year. Send applications before 15 June 1991 to Laurie Goodrich, HMANA Research Award, Hawk Mountain Sanctuary, R.D. 2, Kempton, PA 19529.

The International Osprey Foundation (TIOF) is seeking applications for its second grant to support research activities of a graduate student primarily focusing on ospreys. Work with other raptor species may be considered, however. The award recipient will be expected to provide a report on his or her research and use of the funds within a year of receiving the grant.

Gustavo D. Danemann, a graduate student with the Seabird Program at the Universidad Autonoma de Baja California Sur, Marina Biology Department in La Paz, Mexico, was awarded the first grant. He is studying the breeding ecology, philopatry and dispersion of ospreys in the coastal lagoons of Baja California and the effect of nest density on breeding performance.

Applicants should submit a proposal outlining their project and the intended use of the funds by April 15, 1991. The grant will be awarded on June 1, 1991. Send applications to: **TIOF, Endowment Fund, P.O. Box 250, Sanibel, FL 33957-0250**.