## NOTES AND NEWS

At the invitation of the University of California at Los Angeles, the Los Angeles County Museum, and the Los Angeles Audubon Society, the Cooper Ornithological Society will hold its annual meeting in the Los Angeles area on April 26, 27, and 28, 1957.

The editors regret to report the death of Mrs. Winifred S. Sabine whose article on flocking in juncos appears in this issue of The Condor.

The Brewster Award of the American Ornithologists' Union for 1956 was made to George H. Lowery, Jr., in recognition of his research on nocturnal migrations of birds. The new officers of the Union recently elected are: Ludlow Griscom, President; Ernst Mayr, First Vice-president; George H. Lowery, Jr., Second Vice-president. The Secretary, Harold Mayfield, the Treasurer, Charles G. Sibley, and the Editor of The Auk, Robert W. Storer, were re-elected. New Council Members are: Maurice G. Brooks, Donald S. Farner, Thomas R. Howell, and Ralph S. Palmer. Dr. Palmer also was elected a Fellow. New Elective Members are: David A. Munro, William H. Partridge, and F. W. Preston.

## COOPER SOCIETY MEETINGS

## ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING OF 1956

The first session of the annual meeting of the members of the Cooper Ornithological Society (a corporation) was called to order by President J. R. Pemberton in 224 Guggenheim Hall, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, at 10:25 a.m., Friday, June 15, 1956.

The minutes of the meeting of 1955 were read and approved. The following committees were appointed: *Proxies*, John Davis, Howard L. Cogswell, Thomas R. Howell; Nominations, Junea W. Kelly, Garrett Eddy, Donald D. Mc-Lean. The meeting was adjourned until June 16. The second session of the annual meeting was

called to order at 9:30 a.m., Saturday, June 16, 1956.

John Davis, reporting for the Committee to Examine Proxies, declared 34 members present and proxies for 768, of a total membership of 1324. A quorum was therefore present.

Junea W. Kelly, reporting for the Committee on Nominations, presented the following names for nomination to the Board of Directors: John Davis, C. V. Duff, Ed N. Harrison, Thomas R. Howell, Alden H. Miller, J. R. Pemberton, Frank A. Pitelka, W. J. Sheffler, Jack C. von Bloeker, Jr.

Mr. Pemberton called for further nominations from the floor. There being none, Donald Mc-Lean moved that the nominations be closed and that the Secretary cast a unanimous ballot in favor of the election of the entire slate of the nominated directors. The motion was seconded by Garrett Eddy and unanimously passed.

Mr. C. V. Duff, business manager, presented a report on the financial condition of the Society. Investment of funds under the supervision of the Investment Committee has resulted in a significant increase in the Society's funds. The Endowment Fund now totals \$93,740.72. The final disposition of the estate of Dr. Harry R. Painton, in which the Society will share, should be made in 1956.

President Pemberton presented a resolution expressing the thanks of the Society to the University of Washington, the Pacific Northwest Bird and Mammal Society, and the members of the Local Committee for the excellent arrangements made for the 1956 meeting. The resolution was adopted unanimously.

President Pemberton presented a resolution that the Cooper Ornithological Society go on record as deploring and condemning the use of the poison 1080 in pest control. Frank Richardson moved that the resolution be adopted. The motion was seconded by Howard Cogswell and unanimously passed.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:00 a.m.—John Davis, Secretary