## NOTES AND NEWS

## COOPER CLUB MEETINGS

## BUSINESS MEETING

The first session of the annual meeting of the members of the Cooper Ornithological Club was called to order in Class Hall, Asilomar, Pacific Grove, at 10:20 a.m. April 20, 1951.

The minutes of the meeting of 1950 were read and approved. The following committees were appointed: to examine proxies, Kenneth E. Stager, John Davis, Thomas Howell; to nominate members of the Board of Directors, Hildegarde Howard, Stanley Jewett, Charles Sibley.

The following applications for membership were read: Mrs. Albert E. Long, 45 Clarendon Ave., San Francisco 14, Calif., by Junea W. Kelly; Mary Pemberton Ford, 2360 Scout Road, Oakland 11, Calif., and Adrienne C. Bentinck, 2420 Scout Road, Oakland 11, Calif., by Susan E. Chattin; Leavitt M. McQuesten, 120 Otis St., Santa Cruz, Calif., by Kenneth E. Stager; Thomas Henry Foster, West Road, Bennington, Vermont, and Merle E. Stitt, 1208 No. Weber, Colorado Springs, Colorado, by C. V. Duff; Mrs. Daisy Eberhardt, 427 East F St., Ontario, Calif., and Thomas M. Raitt, 264 Eugenia Dr., Ventura, Calif., by Sidney B. Peyton; Oscar F. Clarke, 1012 Indianapolis Ave., Riverside, Calif., by Wilson C. Hanna.

The second session was called to order by Dr. Miller at 9:30 a.m., on Saturday, April 21. Mr. Stager, chairman of the Proxy Committee, reported sixty-six members present in person and proxies for 706. A quorum was declared present.

Mr. C. V. Duff, Business Manager, presented a brief report of the financial condition of the club.

Dr. Howard, reporting for the Nominating Committee, presented the following names for nomination to the Board of Directors: C. V. Duff, Ed N. Harrison, Jean M. Linsdale, Alden H. Miller, J. R. Pemberton, Sidney B. Peyton, Frank A. Pitelka, W. J. Scheffler, Kenneth E. Stager. It was moved and voted that those named be elected.—HILDEGARDE HOWARD, Secretary.

## SOUTHERN DIVISION

FEBRUARY.—The monthly meeting of the Southern Division of the Cooper Ornithological Club was held at the University of Southern California, with vice-president Wade Fox, Jr., presiding. The following names were proposed for membership: William D. Berry, 1651 Ard Eevin Ave., Glendale 2, Calif., by Hildegarde Howard;

Mrs. Wm. A. Eckart, P.O. Box 281, Rio Vista, Calif., by W. L. Chambers; William Joseph Kamp, Rio Lindo Motel #5, Chico, Calif., by Tom Rodgers; Miss Velma Adams, 714 O. Oxford, Los Angeles 5, Calif., Thomas G. Appel, 63 Sunnyside Ave., Pleasantville, New York, Doris M. Brenneman, 1740 Walnut St., Berkeley 9, Calif., John Henry Dick, Dixie Plantation, Meggett, S. Carolina, John J. Duff, Jr., 935 E. Harrison, Springfield, Missouri, John G. Erickson, 1268 Louisiana Ave., Minneapolis 16, Minnesota, Denzel Edward Ferguson, 142 Kings Rd., Corvallis, Oregon, Paul C. Finninger, 3305 W. 6th, Topeka, Kansas, George Gordon Gibson, 265 Sheldrake Blvd., Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Miss Pearl Heaps, 1916 Park Ave., Baltimore 17, Maryland, William Robert Hecht, Box 4206, St. Louis 16, Missouri, Marion L. Hundley, 545 West Virginia Ave., Morgantown, W. Virginia, Charles Ellsworth Huntington, 38 Kildeer Rd., Hamden 14, Connecticut, Eugene E. Kenaga, 1629 Isabella Rd., Rt. 5, Midland, Michigan, Mrs. Glen B. Kersey, 647 Gordon Terrace, Chicago 13, Illinois, Wm. H. Mers, 1659 Marlowe Ave., Cincinnati 24, Ohio, Mrs. McBrayer Moore, 335 W. Lexington St., Danville, Kentucky, Clarence B. Randall, 38 S. Dearborn St., Chicago 3, Illinois, Carol Rehfisch, 335 Delgado St., Santa Fe, New Mexico, Keith M. Schreiner, Ollie, Iowa, Mrs. Robert Schultz, 7002 Murray Ave., Seattle 6, Washington, Charles Walsh Schwartz, 131 Forest Hill, Jefferson City, Missouri, Richard Earl Tashian, 178 Canonchet Ave., Gaspee Plateau 5, Rhode Island, and Wynn A. Wilson, 817 Greer St., Fort Worth 3, Texas, all by C. V. Duff.

S. Paul Lindau presented a colored motion picture showing the life cycle of the silver fritillary butterfly and nesting activities of Yellow Warbler, Black-chinned Sparrow, Coot and Gray Vireo.

Subsequent to the meeting, the following committees were appointed by the president: Natural Resources: Luther Little (chairman), Frances L. Cramer, S. Paul Lindau, Robert L. Taylor; Membership: Earle R. Greene (chairman), John Davis, Ross Hardy, Harold M. Hill, Ralph H. Miller; Program: Thomas R. Howell (chairman), Frances F. Roberts, Kenneth E. Stager; Publicity: William R. Laskey (chairman); Research: John Davis (chairman), Wade Fox, Jr., Thomas R. Howell, Robert L. Pyle, Arnold Small, and Kenneth E. Stager.—Dorothy E. Groner, Secretary.