heads, but in Great Britain and in two widely separated parts of Asia breeding yellow-headed populations seem to be overlapped in part by dark-headed populations. Apparent hybrids and birds similar in appearance to those usual in other areas occur in Britain and elsewhere. The prevailing view has been that most aberrant specimens were "mutants" of the local populations, merely "convergent" in appearance with other subspecies. Williamson believes that the yellow-headed birds should be regarded as a species, M. lutea, that the birds resembling extra-limital forms are not mutants but actually members of those subspecies, which have been carried off their course by prevailing winds ("migrational drift"). The propensity of wagtails to form multi-racial flocks, especially when they have drifted outside their racially-specific migration routes, causes them to be carried along with the migrants appropriate to the area ("migrational drag"), and even to breed outside their normal range.—M. T. M.

## AOU COMMITTEES 1958-1959

COMMITTEE ON BIOGRAPHY: Walter J. Breckenridge, Chairman. Maurice G. Brooks, Hildegard Howard, J. Murray Speirs, Wendell Taber.

COMMITTEE ON BIRD PROTECTION: E. R. Kalmbach, Chairman. Jean Delacour, I. N. Gabrielson, Robert A. McCabe, David A. Munro.

COMMITTEE ON THE BREWSTER AWARD: Dean Amadon, Chairman. Joseph J. Hickey, George H. Lowery, Jr., Frank A. Pitelka, Charles G. Sibley.

COMMITTEE ON THE CLASSIFICATION AND NOMENCLATURE OF NORTH AMERICAN BIRDS: George H. Lowery, Jr., Chairman. Dean Amadon, Emmet R. Blake, Thomas R. Howell, Alden H. Miller, Raymond A. Paynter, Jr., Robert K. Selander, Charles G. Sibley, Robert W. Storer.

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE: Eugene Eisenmann, Chairman. Don R. Eckelberry, John T. Emlen, Donald S. Farner, Wesley E. Lanyon, Ernst Mayr, Frank McKinney, Robert W. Storer, George M. Sutton, L. R. Wolfe.

COMMITTEE ON FINANCE: Charles G. Sibley, Chairman. Herbert G. Deignan, Hoyes Lloyd, Ernst Mayr, Olin Sewall Pettingill, S. Dillon Ripley.

COMMITTEE ON THE NOMINATION OF HONORARY AND CORRESPONDING FELLOWS: Herbert Friedmann, Chairman. Albert Wolfson, Margaret M. Nice.

COMMITTEE ON THE NOMINATION OF FELLOWS AND ELECTIVE MEMBERS: Eugene P. Odum, Chairman. Robert W. Storer, Hildegard Howard.

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE: Charles H. Blake, Chairman.

PROGRAM COMMITTEE: James T. Tanner, Chairman. Herbert G. Deignan, W. Earl Godfrey, Harrison B. Tordoff.

COMMITTEE ON PUBLICATIONS: Editor 'The Auk,' Chairman. President, Secretary, Treasurer, Editor of 'Ten-Year Index to Auk' (L. R. Wolfe), Charles K. Nichols. COMMITTEE ON RESEARCH: S. Charles Kendeigh, Chairman. Andrew J. Berger, John T. Emlen, Ralph S. Palmer, Harrison B. Tordoff, Milton B. Trautman, M. D. F. Udvardy.

COMMITTEE ON STUDENT AWARDS: William H. Behle, Chairman. Joseph C. Howell, Robert T. Orr, Raymond H. Paynter, Jr., Harrison B. Tordoff.

LOCAL COMMITTEE ON ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE 1959 ANNUAL MEETING: Robert W. Nero, Chairman. Fred G. Bard, Richard W. Fyfe, Max McConnell, George F. Ledingham, Margaret Belcher, Mrs. G. F. Ledingham, Mrs. Elizabeth Cruickshank, Joyce Dew, Elmer Fox, Frank H. Brazier, Bruce Knox, Mrs. John Hodges, Gertrude Murray, James Millington.